top of page

BOOK REVIEWS/TESTIMONIALS for 4,456 Miles: A Survivor's Search for Closure

Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars A personal journey

Reviewed in the United States on July 27, 2020

Verified Purchase

The book is presented in a way that makes you feel like you are on the journey of discovery too. Following the author in discovering her family's past made me interested in finding out more about history. It also made me interested in finding out about my own family's past and provides helpful information on how to start. Because the book is presented with such honesty, it helped the past to come alive with a real sense of the people and all they endured.

orion

5.0 out of 5 stars A Daughter's journey for understanding and a mother's search for closure.

Reviewed in the United States on September 6, 2020

This is an amazing story of a family's journey to the sites of the Holocaust. Driven by the author's interest in developing a deeper understanding of the horrors that both her mother and father experienced in the concentration camps of World War II, Lori Klisman Ellis tells the story of her family's planning and travel on this amazing journey. This is a wonderful book that is sobering as well as inspiring and speaks to the ability of people kept in horrific conditions to maintain hope throughout the duration of their captivity and then somehow move forward into a life with love and family. Many portions of the book are not an easy read. The photos are alarming as well as amazing and clearly document the tragedy of the Holocaust. This author obviously spent enormous amounts of time and energy in producing this volume. The reader will come away from completion of 4,456 Miles with a better understanding of this difficult time in history and will appreciate this family's willingness to share this journey with each other.

Rick K

5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a must read-a treasure!

Reviewed in the United States on November 11, 2020

My wife and I have known the Ellis family for some 25 years. I received Lori’s book in February 2020. I wanted so much to read it, but I couldn’t pick it up while Trump was in power. I feel like he’s a modern day Hitler. I feel like America was turning into 1936 Germany. With that (almost) behind us, I did read Lori’s book.
All I can say is wow! Her parents’ story is incredible! The odds that both would survive the camps had to be near zero! The fact that anyone survived the camps is a miracle. That portion of the book is very well and very passionately written!
I really enjoyed the travelogue! I felt like I was in Poland with the Ellis family. Truly a once in a lifetime experience, again so well written. And, no spoilers here, I was happy that Lori did not become a permanent resident of Poland! Lol!
Lori and Sophie should feel very proud of this book. Their commitment to educating the world about the Holocaust must be appreciated and treasured. Even though, as a Jew, I knew a lot of this material, and I’ve been to Yad Vashem, I don’t think you can ever know “too much” about one of the darkest moments in human history.
Of course, at times this is a hard read. But absolutely a must read!

 

Martin Rosenbloom

5.0 out of 5 stars 4,456 Miles—An uplifting true story of human triumph

Reviewed in the United States on September 9, 2020

The book, 4,456 Miles, A Survivor’s Search For Closure, by Lori Klisman Ellis, tells the real life story of how her mother, Zylsa (Sophie) Tajch Klisman, lived through the Holocaust and was able to build a beautiful family life afterward. At age 91, Sophie serves as a shining example of how the human spirit can prevail. For those of us who fortunately did not have first-hand knowledge of the Holocaust atrocities, this book portrays a young girl’s experience. The book shares how Sophie eventually built her life in the United States and then details a trip to Poland that Sophie and her family took in order to trace her family origins.

4,456 Miles, A Survivor’s Search for Closure is an uplifting story of human triumph. It serves as a reminder that people can get through impossible, unspeakable times and find peace, closure and happiness in their futures.

Amazon Customer

5.0 out of 5 stars Must read

Reviewed in the United States on August 12, 2020

After discovering secrets of her mother’s life and how she survived during the horrific and tragic time of the Holocaust, a daughter illustrates the true story of the family’s journey to find out what happened to family members and learn about their family history during this time period. The author gives historical background while describing how she was able to find out important details and what happened when the family went back to get closure. While reading this book, I was amazed at the strength Sophie had by not giving up hope while trying to survive. Also, I’m so impressed with the courage she has to speak to others about her experiences and teach everyone to Never Forget.

Amazon reader PAL

5.0 out of 5 stars A journey through time

Reviewed in the United States on August 25, 2020

This book provided me with a detailed, real-life story of survival through the eyes of the daughter of a holocaust survivor. Each chapter delved deeper into the horrific conditions of the camps where the survivor was sent but also showed the courage and stamina and will of someone who didn't want to die at the hands of the Nazis. The authors brilliant writing brought her family's story full circle depicting her mother's journey not only through the war but in the visit back to Poland 70 years later showing the power of hope and love of family which enabled her to get through each day before she was liberated. Its a blessing that the writer/daughter learned about her family's legacy and her mother's struggle portraying how she was able to maintain her optimism and strength, handing those traits down to her daughter in spite of her loss and horrific living conditions in the concentration camps. This book will truly help you appreciate life and not take anything for granted.

Henry Beder

4.0 out of 5 stars 4456 Miles

Reviewed in the United States on September 10, 2020

My wife and I have come to know and love Sophie Klinsman, the subject of Lori Ellis’ tribute to her mother in this journey of discovery. While books on the Holocaust are written from 10,000 feet, Lori zeroes into the personal tragedies and history that affected her mother and her family during the darkest period of Jewish history. Sophie’s survival, her ability to rise above the bitterness that engulfed so many of her time and remain the loving and compassionate soul that she is, is an inspiration to all of us. The IDF could not have found a more fitting representative to accompany them on their mission to Poland. Lori Ellis has provided the reader with a wealth of photographs and information relating to genealogical research as part of her personal mission of defining her roots and insight into the methodology that one can use in pursuing their own search.

testimonial pic.jpg
bottom of page